Women’s Society presents leadership awards, honors Early | The Source | Washington University in St. Louis – Washington University in St. Louis Newsroom

The Women’s Society of Washington University announced the winners of the Harriet K. Switzer Leadership Award and the Elizabeth Gray Danforth Scholarships during its annual membership meeting April 20. 

For the first time in 24 years of presenting the Switzer Leadership Award to graduating seniors, the group selected three honorees for their commitment to the university through leadership. Debbie Killmer, chair of the society’s leadership committee, presented the award to Gwen Klein, Delanie Ludmir and Anna Vaclavek. 

The Switzer Leadership Award recipients are (from left) Gwen Klein, Delanie Ludmir and Anna Vaclavek.

Klein, a John B. Ervin Scholar, is double-majoring in political science and educational studies, both in Arts & Sciences. She serves on the university’s Student Union; Undergraduates for University Socio-Economic Diversity group; and City Faces student group. During her first semester, she applied to be the Student Union’s Opportunity Fund chair, a role that engages low- income students in the university experience. Klein pushed for the fund to become part of the university’s endowment after securing over $350,000. 

She also founded a team focused on bringing a food pantry to campus. The Women’s Society selected the food pantry as one of its funded projects in 2020. Following graduation, Klein will join the Urban Teachers program in Washington, teaching and pursuing a master’s in education at Johns Hopkins